This is the Way

Follow @Microlorian on Micro.blog.

Developments in/at the house for hardcore fans of my house trip

Okay. Today the plumbing company from the town I live in was here. They got to clean out part of a mistake the floor tile contractor made well over a year ago. Spoiler: The floor tile contractor is now insolvent and I have to pay all the costs of touch-ups - some more than necessary - myself.

The plumbers, father and son, diverted one pipe over another. To do this, we had a wall torn open in advance. Now water flows from a bathroom on the upper floor via another toilet on the first floor. In principle, this could have been arranged beforehand, but on the part of the construction company it was decided that it would go via 2 pipes. Luck of the draw, pipe 2 was just there, everything was rerouted and now we can finally use the children’s bathroom.

Why was that not possible before? The floor slab builder has laid this pipe against the flow direction under the floor slab and in addition uphill. Anyone who can now add 1+1 together quickly understands that this will lead to blockages. Very quickly, in fact.

Actually, I would now have to have this disused pipe sealed as well. After all, it goes in the wrong direction - towards the kitchen. This means that the manure from the kitchen can either run into the sewer system or into the blocked pipe. The latter is understandably not so great.

But: I’m not having it done now.

Why? Briefly: The floor slab builder is insolvent in the meantime. All repairs are now done via my account, which constantly tells me: You must be crazy.

All in all, his mistakes have cost me about 30-40,000 euros so far. Money that was not planned for at the beginning.

I had control shafts installed today. Means - the actually dead line I can flush if necessary, should something clog there and also clog the main line. That saves me initial determined between 1,500 and 3,000 euros. Is it the best solution? I have no idea. I have simply given up on it.

In this sense: Please never build a house. A rented apartment is ingenious. Mistakes are corrected by others. You hardly have to worry about anything.

Your sad friend, who would have preferred never to build himself.