This is the Way

Follow @Microlorian on Micro.blog.

About tools, needs, subscriptions and saving money

What I want: reflect.app
Exactly the note app that suits me best. A blessing to work with.
By far the best offshoot of the Zettelkasten method. Better than Roam or Obsidian.

What I will use: craft.do
Also has daily notes (my main use), but doesn’t match me 100%.
I have to click several times until I get to where I want to end up. But okay, I’ll put up with that.

Why do I do this? Money.
craft is first free and then it costs about 50$ a year while reflect costs 150$ a year.

All the subscriptions are eating me up at the moment. And even if I have found the perfect tools for me, I can no longer afford everything by far.

I still don’t want to do without comfort and good tools, so I’m still happy to use paid tools, even if they don’t correspond 100% to my workflow.

Let’s take Todoist (Pro). I will replace that with Microsoft To Do. Yes, because of the cost.

In this sense… I am strongly sorting out. And every time I want to click on subscribe somewhere, I slap my fingers and think five more times whether I really need it.