This is the Way

Follow @Microlorian on Micro.blog.

Tools for problems you don't have

I have now started to highlight various texts. I never thought I would start doing that. And Readwise is now my fifth (??) attempt. I like it very much. I’ll wait and see if and how I use it for a while.

Attention, advertising. If you also want to use it - want to try it out - with this link you get an additional trial month and I may also play around with it “for free” for a month longer.

Why the question for a fifth try? Well. I had saved quotes in the past sometimes. And I think it started with Evernote. I copied texts and just pasted them as notes. That was okay as a solution. But Evernote is a lame overloaded crutch. It’s no fun to use the tool. Get rid of it.

And then? I am also a MyMind user. I can store everything in it. Pictures, videos, whole articles, quotes and highlights. It really is a kind of second brain and I love it. But somehow the highlights didn’t fit 100% in there or I just don’t know exactly how and what I do with them.

So I have a tool that only deals with that. I can also favouritise and tag the highlights in it, I have various interfaces, for example to my Kindle, on which I only very rarely highlighte anything. But I have the possibilities and a nice interface.

As I said, it’s a test. Probably just a .txt file would do, which I fill from top to bottom with highlights and source. That’s free and also searchable.

I am someone who likes to try out tools, but in the wrong direction. I try to solve problems that I don’t have with tools I don’t need. I still have to work on that.